Pumpkin Spice Foods, Day 12: Twisted Gourd (Pumpkin Beer)

Sidenote: Because I am out of commission on taste-testing pumpkin beers and alcohol, my friend, Bobbie, has graciously offered to fill that void.  She will be submitting blog posts on her pumpkin beer adventures.  Not only has she been my BFF since second grade, she loves checking out breweries and having a beer.  She is the perfect person to fill the pumpkin beer gap here.
Frankly, I don’t like pumpkin stuff in general. However, a couple of years ago I discovered the wonders of pumpkin beers, and have been seeking to try new ones each year. Since Laura isn’t much of a beer drinker these days, her blog has fallen short on this category, so I thought I’d help her out!
This is my second pumpkin beer of the year (I’ll write about the first one later.) I’m starting with this because it is the BEST pumpkin beer I’ve ever had. I was on my honeymoon in Bend, OR, and came across this brewery near our hotel (no, my hubby wasn’t with me, that’s a whole other story for a whole other blog) called Silver Moon Brewing. I ordered a flight, and the bartender made sure to tell me that their pumpkin beer, Twisted Gourd, had just been put on tap that day. Of course I ordered it. In the picture, it is the small glass on the right, an amber color. It smelled of cinnamon and hops, but when I tasted it, I got hints of brown sugar, cinnamon, and that unique pumpkin flavor that’s hard to describe. It was a perfect balance–not sweet like a pumpkin pie, but not bitter like a hoppy beer. There was a lot going on with this beer, but one thing was for sure–the pumpkins were fresh. This was not made with pumpkin puree. This thing had real ingredients in it. I’m just sad that I couldn’t bring it back with me!
-BT
Photo Cred: B. Tidball
Photo Cred: B. Tidball
Leave a Reply

